Friday, October 9, 2020

MVSGA Champions

The Fawn Lake Men’s “Traveling Team” won the 2020 Mid-Virginia Senior Golf Association Championship at Fredericksburg Country Club defeating the Lee’s Hill Golf Club Team 83 to 79.  The Team had an undefeated regular season record of 7 – 0 – 1 defeating Fredericksburg Country Club, Lee’s Hill Golf Club, Gauntlet Golf Club, each twice and Lake of the Woods Golf Club with one win and one tie.  The trophy moves from Culpeper Country Club, the 2019 Champion to Fawn Lake at the Captain’s Meeting in October.

The Championship came down to the wire with the final two teams each reporting narrow wins to clinch the Championship.  Captain Ron Bishop regularly reminded his players that just one putt can mean the difference between a win and a loss.  The season was abbreviated by the Covid-19 pandemic with 5 of 9 teams participating.  While the Championship Team shown below capped a successful season, fifteen other players contributed to the Championship season.  They are Keith Armstrong, Dave Bartoszek, Lou Detroia, Janamitra Devan, Mike Edwards, Jeff Kramer, Ray McCutcheon, Ed Migliore, Mike Mikolosko, Randy Royce, Craig Rutler, Bob Ryan, Drew Sites, Terry Thompson, John Wanat.

The Winning Team:

Jim Avery,  Ron Bishop, Henry Dorsett, Barry Duehring, Bob Gauvin, Brad Gregory, Jerry Henderson, Karl Karch, Tom Moore, Ron Morris, Steve Pendry, Craig Reed, Steve Robertson, Dan Scherder, Tom Schneider, Bob Stumpf, Tim Tarzier, Dave Walsh.